top of page

A Little Bit of Powder

I was so incredibly excited, as well as nervous, for this concept, but it turned out so well!

As a dedicated user of Pinterest I have seen dozens of gorgeous photos of coloured flour photoshoots, and most recently a video by Jessica Kobeissi using it in snow, and finally decided to give it a go in a sort of attempt at a series of "This Was Not My Concept"

The prep for it was fairly straightforward, just cornflour, food dye and water. Admittedly I left the making of the powder a little too late, so didn't use a lot of water to make sure it would dry overnight.

We sped the process up by baking the powder in the oven, and then finally blitzed it all in a food processor. The powder was still pretty thick, so my sister Claire helped to sift the different colours.

And it was all worth it!

Mikki and I shot in her formal dress prior to this, and we met my sister Claire and model-turned-assistant, Sarah, at the location, who helped throw the powder and film Behind the Scenes videos.

The blue powder worked so well with the mountain backdrop, and the pink gave a great contrast to Mikki's lighter colouring.

I was pretty worried about the sun setting and loosing light, however it worked out fine and we finished shooting around 8:30.

A massive thankyou to Mikki who was so gorgeous and easy to work with, and to Claire and Sarah who were fabulous assistants. <3

~Until next time!~


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page